Should Bailout Pay GM Employees to NOT Work?

by LukeAmerica2020
Megyn Kelly, of Fox News, asks former GM V.P. Bud Moore “How can you ask taxpayers to lend you money when you pay workers who no longer work for you?” He answers, “Because GM is caring company and the union is a very supportive organization.”

This video is from the RadioVice YouTube channel.

Here’s an excerpt from Mitt Romney’s editorial in the New York TimesLet Detroit Go Bankrupt”:

First, their huge disadvantage in costs relative to foreign brands must be eliminated. That means new labor agreements to align pay and benefits to match those of workers at competitors like BMW, Honda, Nissan and Toyota. Furthermore, retiree benefits must be reduced so that the total burden per auto for domestic makers is not higher than that of foreign producers.

That extra burden is estimated to be more than $2,000 per car. Think what that means: Ford, for example, needs to cut $2,000 worth of features and quality out of its Taurus to compete with Toyota’s Avalon. Of course the Avalon feels like a better product — it has $2,000 more put into it.

 

5 Responses to Should Bailout Pay GM Employees to NOT Work?

  1. Jamie Holts says:

    You know, I have to tell you, I really enjoy this blog and the insight from everyone who participates. I find it to be refreshing and very informative. I wish there were more blogs like it. Anyway, I felt it was about time I posted, I’ve spent most of my time here just lurking and reading, but today for some reason I just felt compelled to say this.

  2. Jamie Holts says:

    I discovered your homepage by coincidence.
    Very interesting posts and well written.
    I will put your site on my blogroll.
    🙂

  3. I must say this is a great article i enjoyed reading it keep the good work 🙂

  4. Jamie Holts says:

    I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

  5. Jamie Holts says:

    Hi. I read a few of your other posts and wanted to know if you would be interested in exchanging blogroll links?

Leave a Reply

